3 words. 8 letters.

The other day I was teaching a bunch of 5 year olds how to dance, and at the end of the class one of them came gushing over to me. I was expecting her to ask for a stamp on her hand, or even some sort of treat. She simply goes to me:

“Miss Laura, I love you.”

I’ve literally known this little girl for approximately 52 minutes, and she’s told me that she loves me.

It made me think.

How do you know you’re in love? When is the right time to say it to someone? How long should you wait?

If this little girl is anything to go by, just under an hour seems to be absolutely fine.

Who decides this time limit, though? Where is there a handbook that says when and where the right time is to say those magic three words? Or who has to say it first? It seems to me that we are living in a time where dating is fast tracked in so many ways, but certain parts are still kept on the back burner.

Speaking from experience, I’ve gathered that the general amount of time to wait before saying “I love you” is approximately 4-5 months. THAT IS A GENERAL FINDING DON’T FREAK OUT OKAY?!

And, I have been the first to say it, and have been in situations where my partner has said it first.

On other occasions, I’ve received the words quite unexpectedly, and quite frankly, it’s been unwanted. Well okay not completely unwanted, because who doesn’t like being told they’re loved?

ANYWAY.

In my current relationship, everyone around me seems to be telling me that it’s moving too fast. We said “I love you” after a week, moved in after 5 months, and are now planning our future. Like, if I’m not engaged within 12 months I ain’t gonna be happy.

To many on the outside looking in, this is all going waaaaay too fast, but I beg to differ.

As my boyfriend likes to say, when you know, you know.

But, that brings me to my next question.

How do you know you’re in love?

Is there a certain light bulb that simply turns itself on after a couple of months?

Is it when you meet your other half’s family, or when you’re comfortable farting in front of them?

Is it when you take your first trip away together, or when you pop their first pimple?

For me, it’s when I realise I can be my ridiculously crazy and overly emotional self.

When I can cry at random points during the day with no questions asked, when I can express my irrational fears of mascots and saliva and not be judged, and when I can feel comfortable talking to them about anything at anytime of day.

I know it’s not going to be the same for everyone, but that’s how it is for me.

And this time, it happened in the space of just a few weeks.

So, if you’re currently in a relationship and everyone is telling you it’s going to fast, or that it’s going too slow, then tell them to take a hike and read this blog, because no one knows how you feel better than you do.

Much love xx

Insta: lfrendon

Tumblr: radio-active.tumblr.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

